Financial Aid & Scholarships

Departmental scholarship information

Any qualified student may apply for the following scholarship through the College of Arts and Sciences Direct Admission Selective Scholarship Application.

The Donald Otto Koehler Scholarship

This scholarship was established in 2006 by Anne B. Koehler in memory of her husband, who had a lifelong interest in mathematics. The Koehlers’s desire is to support a student who is mathematically talented and well-rounded in other subjects, especially musical pursuits such as choir or band.

Learn more about the Donald Otto Koehler Scholarship

National Science Foundation’s Robert Noyce Scholarship Program

The Noyce scholarships were started in academic year 2007-2008 with funds provided by the National Science Foundation’s Robert Noyce Scholarship Program. Students who receive the money must commit to teaching mathematics in high-need school districts two years for each year the scholarship is received.

Read more about the Noyce scholarship Access the scholarship application

Annual Math department awards

The following awards are given by the Mathematics department to outstanding students in the spring of each year. Selections are based on faculty nominations.

Thelma Abell Prize

Established in 1996, this prize rewards either undergraduate or graduate students who intend to teach at the high school level, have high scholastic merit, and demonstrate financial need.

Ciprian Foias Prize

Established in 1995 by Paul and Miriam Biss, this award reflects appreciation for Professor Ciprian Foias and the Mathematics department for their generosity and talent in guiding the mathematical education of their son, Daniel Biss. The prize is given to an outstanding undergraduate math major.

Ruth E. Gilliatt Memorial Scholarship

Established in 1987 by Harold, Donald, Paul, and David Gilliatt, this scholarship is a memorial to their sister, whose outstanding achievements reflect her hard work and dedication to education. The Gilliatt Scholarship is awarded to a student in mathematics who has performed at the highest level in a rigorous curriculum.

Trula Sidwell Hardy Scholarship Fund

This scholarship was established in 1993 by Trula Sidwell Hardy, a 1924 graduate with a B.A. in Mathematics. The fund was created to support students in the Mathematics Department.

Cora B. Hennel Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship was established in 1958 by Cecilia Hennel Hendricks as a memorial to her sister. In 1912, Cora Hennel received the first Ph.D. awarded in Mathematics at Indiana University. Throughout her 42-year career at Indiana, Professor Hennel was known for her love of learning, excellent teaching, and commitment to being an advisor and friend to students. Hennel Scholarships are awarded to worthy students who have demonstrated high ability in mathematics.

Rainard Benton Robbins Prize in Mathematics

This prize was established in 1951 by Helen S. Robbins in memory of her husband, who received his A.B. and A.M. in Mathematics from Indiana (1909, 1910) and his Ph.D. from Harvard (1914). The Robbins Prize is given to a student who shows promise in the study of mathematics.

The Marie S. Wilcox Scholarship

This scholarship was stablished in 1981 by Marie S. Wilcox. After graduating from Indiana University, Mrs. Wilcox distinguished herself as a teacher, lecturer, and author. For many years, she also directed Indiana University’s Summer Institute for Teachers of Mathematics. The Wilcox Scholarship was established to recognize students who demonstrate a deep understanding and appreciation of mathematics and who maintain a record of high academic achievement.