Departmental Scholarship Information

Any qualified student may apply for the following scholarship through the College of Arts and Sciences Direct Admission Selective Scholarship Application.

The Donald Otto Koehler Scholarship was established in 2006 by Anne B. Koehler in memory of her husband, who had a lifelong interest in mathematics. The Koehlers’s desire is to support a student who is mathematically talented and well-rounded in other subjects, especially musical pursuits such as choir or band.

Students interested in teaching high school may apply for the following scholarship.

The Noyce scholarships, starting in academic year 2007-2008, are provided by the National Science Foundation’s Robert Noyce Scholarship Program. Students who receive the money must commit to teaching mathematics in high-need school districts two years for each year the scholarship is received.

The following awards are given by the Mathematics Department to outstanding students in the spring of each year. Selections are based on faculty nominations.

The Thelma Abell Prize was established in 1996 to reward undergraduate or graduate students who intend to teach at the high school level, have high scholastic merit, and demonstrate financial need.

The Ciprian Foias Prize was established in 1995 by Paul and Miriam Biss to thank Professor Foias and the Mathematics Department for their generosity and talent in guiding the mathematical education of their son Daniel Biss. The prize is given to an outstanding undergraduate math major.

The Ruth E. Gilliatt Memorial Scholarship was established in 1987 by Harold, Donald, Paul, and David Gilliatt as a memorial to their sister, whose outstanding achievements reflect her hard work and dedication to education. The Gilliatt Scholarship is awarded to a student in mathematics who has performed at the highest level in a rigorous curriculum.

The Trula Sidwell Hardy Scholarship Fund was established in 1993 by Trula Sidwell Hardy, a 1924 graduate with a B.A. in Mathematics. This fund was created to support the students in the Mathematics Department.

The Cora B. Hennel Memorial Scholarship was established in 1958 by Cecilia Hennel Hendricks as a memorial to her sister. In 1912 Cora Hennel received the first Ph.D. awarded in Mathematics at Indiana University. Throughout her 42-year career at Indiana, Professor Hennel was known for her love of learning, excellent teaching, and commitment to being an advisor and friend to students. Hennel Scholarships are awarded to worthy students who have demonstrated high ability in mathematics.

The Rainard Benton Robbins Prize in Mathematics was established in 1951 by Helen S. Robbins in memory of her husband. He received his A.B. and A.M. in Mathematics from Indiana (1909, 1910) and his Ph.D. from Harvard (1914). Following his years at Yale and Michigan, he was with the New York Insurance Department. In 1931, he joined the Teachers Insurance and Annuity Association where he served as secretary and vice president until 1948. The Robbins Prize is given to a student who shows promise in the study of mathematics.

The Marie S. Wilcox Scholarship was established in 1981 by Marie S. Wilcox. After graduating from Indiana University, Mrs. Wilcox distinguished herself as a teacher, lecturer, and author. For many years, she also directed Indiana University's Summer Institute for Teachers of Mathematics. The Wilcox Scholarship was established to recognize students who demonstrate a deep understanding and appreciation of mathematics and who maintain a record of high academic achievement.