Two Indiana University professors named American Mathematical Society Fellows

Two Indiana University mathematicians have been named 2016 fellows of the American Mathematical Society for their outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication and utilization of mathematics.

The recipients are Valery Lunts and Vladimir Touraev, both in the IU Bloomington College of Arts and Sciences’ Department of Mathematics. Only 50 mathematical scientists were honored worldwide this year.

The election of Lunts and Touraev raises the university's total number of AMS fellows to 15 across all campuses.

Other AMS fellow at IU are Hari Bercovici, Michael J. Larsen, Eric Bedford, David Fisher, Robert Glassey, Russell Lyons, Michael Mandell, Peter Sternberg, Roger M. Temam, Shouhong Wang and Kevin Zumbrun at IU Bloomington and Alexander Its and Michal Misiurewicz at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis.

<LINK to full news release>