Michael Larsen receives Moore Prize from American Mathematical Society

Michael Larsen, an Indiana University Distinguished Professor in the College of Arts and Sciences' Department of Mathematics, has received the E.H. Moore Research Article Prize from the American Mathematical Society.

Awarded every three years for an outstanding research article that appeared in the past six years in one of the primary research journals of the American Mathematical Society, the Moore Prize was established in 2002 in honor of E.H. Moore, founder of the Chicago branch of the American Mathematical Society and the society's sixth president.

Larsen shares the prize with Richard Pink, professor of mathematics at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich, for their article "Finite subgroups of algebraic groups" published in the Journal of the American Mathematical Society in 2011.

<LINK to news release>